Skip to content

2010 All Affiliates Conference

April 16, 2010

The annual all affiliates conference was held on March 26, 2010, and was very well attended by many of the coalition’s members and guests. Board Chair Diana Christopulos presented an update of the coalition’s progress over the past year.  Download a copy of this presentation (6 MB).

This presentation was followed by a group discussion of the highlights of the previous year’s accomplishments throughout the Roanoke Valley, with each table selecting their favorite and reporting it to the audience. This highlighted a wide array of successful projects throughout the region.

Mark McClain hosted the presentation of the Cool Citizen Awards. Following is the text of a press release about the nominees and winners:

Roanoke Valley Cool Cities Coalition, at its annual affiliates conference held March 26, 2010 at Roanoke’s Claude Moore Education Complex, recognized the finalists and announced the winners of its “Cool Citizen Awards” for 2010. These awards are presented by the coalition to individuals, businesses, and government agencies whose efforts have contributed to the overall reduction in greenhouse gas emissions, consistent with the coalition’s overall mission.

The 2010 “Cool Citizens Awards” finalists and winners are:

Business (presented by James Breakell, Breakell Inc.

Winner – Structures Design/Build, Adam Cohen, owner

“Structures” was cited for its contribution to and work on the Center for Energy Efficient Design, currently under construction at the Gereau Center for Applied Technology and Career Exploration in Franklin County; also for its innovative offering of the Passive House low- or no-energy building design, and for owner Adam Cohen’s community involvement in Roanoke’s Citizens for Clean and Green committee and his educational outreach efforts in the area of energy-efficient building design.

Other finalists: Retellus, Rutherfoord, and Boxley Materials

Media (presented by Chad Braby, Cool Cities Board of Directors)

Winner – Dan Smith, Valley Business Front

Mr. Smith was cited for his commitment to environmental responsibility in the business community, throughout his editorial career including his earlier affiliation with the Blue Ridge Business Journal and his current work with Valley Business Front.

Other finalists: Dan Radmacher, Roanoke Times; Denise Allen Membreno, Kianna Wade, and Jason Lisk (Cox-9 Urban Voices segment production team)

Government (Presented by Gwen Mason, Roanoke City Council and Ken Cronin, City of Roanoke)

Winners – Charlotte Moore, Cave Spring District Supervisor, Roanoke County; AND Franklin County Schools

Ms. Moore was cited for her involvement and support of the work of Roanoke County to measure its carbon footprint, set specific reduction goals for community greenhouse gas emissions, and establish a citizens committee to further these goals through community involvement.

Franklin County Schools received recognition for its commitment to the Center for Energy Efficient Design. Teachers Neil Sigmon and John Richardson have been closely involved with this project and received the award on behalf of Franklin County Schools.

Other Finalists – The City of Salem; Roanoke County Schools

Individual (Presented by Jeremy Holmes, RIDE Solutions)

Winner – Mark E. Hanson

Mr. Hanson was cited for commitment to renewable energy innovation, his initiative in forming a local chapter of the Renewable Energy and Electric Vehicle Association through which he has recruited a cadre of volunteers to provide help with DIY renewable energy systems in the community.

Nonprofit (Presented by Mark McClain)

Winner – Sharebike (founder Ron McCorkle)

Sharebike was cited for its effectiveness in raising awareness of bicycling, a completely emission-free form of travel, as a viable element of our local transportation system, and for its involvement with other groups to stimulate, support and link together a wide range of community-based bicycle initiatives in the Roanoke Valley.

Other Finalist – Roanoke Regional Chamber of Commerce

Special Achievement (Presented by Rupert Cutler, Roanoke City Council and former Director, Roanoke Valley Cool Cities Coalition)

Winner – Billy Weitzenfeld, Executive Director, Association of Energy Conservation Professionals

Mr. Weitzenfeld was recognized as the driving force behind the Green Living and Energy Expo, which over the past ten years has become one of the premier energy conservation events in the country, drawing thousands of citizens and business people to learn and exchange ideas about energy efficiency and conservation.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: